— Glossary

  1. Knowledge base
  2. Glossary
  3. Non-metropolitan County[…]

Non-metropolitan County Council

Legal words

Defined in two places:

For exempt accommodation purposes in paragraph 4(10) of Schedule 3 to the HB&CTB (Consequential Provisions) Regs 2006:

  • “a non-metropolitan county council in England within the meaning of section 1 of the Local Government Act 1972”

Section 1 of the 1972 Act says:

  • For the administration of local government on and after 1st April 1974 England (exclusive of Greater London and the Isles of Scilly) shall be divided into local government areas to be known as counties and in those counties there shall be local government areas to be known as districts.

  • The counties shall be the metropolitan counties named in Part I and the non-metropolitan counties named in Part II of Schedule 1 to this Act and shall comprise the areas respectively described (by reference to administrative areas existing immediately before the passing of this Act) in column 2 of each Part of that Schedule.

Part II of the Schedule lists the following non-metropolitan counties:

  • Avon, Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cheshire, Cleveland, Cornwall, Cumbria, Derbyshire, Devon, Dorset, Durham, East Sussex, Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Hereford & Worcester, Hertfordshire, Humberside, Isle of Wight, Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, North Yorkshire, Northamptonshire, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Salop, Somerset, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Surrey, Warwickshire, West Sussex and Wiltshire.

Structural changes: not all of the counties originally listed in the 1972 Act still exist (either at all, or in their 1972 form). For further information, and commentary on the HB implications, see “What is a non-metropolitan county council in England?”

For benefit cap purposes in Regulation 75H(6) of the Housing Benefit Regulations 2006:

  • “relevant body” means a –

    • council for a county in England for each part of whose area there is a district council;